Wednesday, February 27, 2008

Northern Utah Fiskars Certified Tool Demonstrator Training - March 11th

I'm excited to announce that I have scheduled a Fiskars certified tool demonstrator training for northern Utah. The training will be at Daisy Dots and Doodles in North Ogden on March 11th from 12 - 4 pm. I only have 8 spots available so if you are interested, please email me or fiska-message me right away! Or you can call the store directly at (801) 737-9152.

Here are all of the tools we will be training on. Even if you have used some of these tools before, I have some great tips and tricks to teach you as well. The trainings are always a lot of fun and I'm excited to meet more Fiskateers. I even have a few prizes to give away :)

There are also chats scheduled at the Fiskars chat room about being a Certified Fiskars Demonstrator. The schedule is:

Wednesday March 5th 2pm Eastern/11am Pacific

Wednesday March 5th 10pm Eastern/7pm Pacific

Thursday March 6th Noon Eastern/9am Pacific

Thursday March 6th 4pm Eastern/1pm Pacific

I hope to make it to a few of the chats. Here is the link:

Here is another link to the Fiskateers calendar with all of the chats, make and takes, and trainings listed:

I hope to fill up my class. It is so fun for me to share my love of these tools! I love to see the excitement of my trainees when they see how easy they are to use. COME JOIN THE FUN!

P.S. I have a very imformal training also scheduled for March 18th from 11am - 3pm at my house. I have several of my neighbor friends coming over to learn how to use the tools. If you are interested in that date, please let me know. My email is janddbybee at hotmail dot com.

Wednesday, February 13, 2008

Birthday Cake for Cameron

First of all, a disclaimer. I have not decorated a cake with decorating tips for years (like 20) and that one was really simple. I have 39 professional decorating tips that I have wanted to learn to use but just haven't. I knew that Cameron wanted an excavator on his cake. I also knew that I probably wouldn't be able to find that at the store and that I already blew our birthday budget on craft supplies for the kids to play with at the party. So I made a chocolate cake from scratch ( Top Secret Recipes chocolate cake mix ) and Wilton buttercream frosting.
I hope to get some food color pastes next time because I heard they make much brighter/darker colors. The "dirt" in the hole was Dove dark chocolates chopped up. Considering I only had 45 minutes to frost the cake and decorate it, it turned out okay. Next time I plan to find a cake decorating book and find out how to use all of the cool decorating tips that I have. I also plan to give myself more than 45 minutes to decorate a cake. And I plan to have some good frosting bags. The two I had were old and split mid-frosting. I had to use zip-lock bags instead.
While creating this post, I just browsed the Wilton website and realized just how much there is to learn about decorating cakes. Fun! and fattening!

Monday, February 4, 2008

All About Me

I finally made an All About Me scrapbook page. I never make pages just about me. I'm glad that I made it though. It was a real growing experience to think about where I've been, where I'm at right now and what I want to accomplish.

I used all Cloud 9 Chocolate Chalet and Sorbet Villa papers and embellishments. Now I need to figure out a cute/fun way to hook the folder closed. The folder actually has pages inside.

Thanks for stopping by and looking!